Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class A Motor Coach
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-13-2021, 04:16 AM   #1

Brand: Still Looking
Model: Forest River 2400R MBS
State: Missouri
THOR #13744
50 AMP question

I have another question since switching from a 30 to a 50 amp coach.

I seen that Camco makes a Y-connector cable/adapter that you can plug into the 30 amp and 15 amp outlets at the same time, supposedly giving you 45 amp service.

I am a mechanic, not an electrician. Does that really work?

Thanks from a 50 amp novice.

Old 05-13-2021, 10:04 AM   #2

Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by 71_340 View Post
I have another question since switching from a 30 to a 50 amp coach.

I seen that Camco makes a Y-connector cable/adapter that you can plug into the 30 amp and 15 amp outlets at the same time, supposedly giving you 45 amp service.

I am a mechanic, not an electrician. Does that really work?

Thanks from a 50 amp novice.
No, it does not. Most campground have 50/30/20 services. The 20 amp outlet is GFI protected. that y adapter you are talking about shares the neutral with the 30 amp side. GFI can NOT share a neutral. therefor it will trip the 20 amp gfi breaker every time. The other issue is if you have a 50 amp rig and you adapt down to 30 that's all well and good. Where are you gonna plug in the 20 amp side to get into your RV? How do you turn that 30 into 45?
Old 05-13-2021, 01:01 PM   #3

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
THOR #20289
Cavie is correct above, but let me explain how your 50A shore power works: