RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2016, 05:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 44
THOR #5409
2015 Thor ACE No Shore Power

No shore power. Light indicates it's plugged in. Generator works.
__________________

__________________
Codywayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ArrrV's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 ACE 30.2
State: Florida
Posts: 249
THOR #1287
I do not mean to be flip or insulting here, but this has happened to us, so please take it in that spirit. Note: I am assuming that you have no power even with the generator running, if you have power with the generator and not with the electric plugged into shore, than disregard the Easy Button .

The EASY Button: I don't know which ACE model you have, but my 2015 has a power disconnect on the side of the steps as you enter. My grands were occasionally toggling it when they came in or out of the RV and stopped on the steps to put on/off shoes. If this was accidentally pushed into the off position it would explain why no power. And you wouldn't know it had been pushed, which is why I now keep mine taped in the on position.

The not so EASY Button: Otherwise you have to deal with RV hide and seek--looking for fuses and connections related to the converter box at the battery and at the converter box. It could as simple as a fuse to the converter, a loose connection to the converter, or you might need that multimeter. I have not had to deal with this one. Yet.

Hope it was the Easy Button solution.
__________________

__________________
ArrrV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 44
THOR #5409
No Shore Power

I wish the easy button worked. Power works with generator .
__________________
Codywayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ArrrV's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 ACE 30.2
State: Florida
Posts: 249
THOR #1287
Um... Sounds like it might be a problem with the Transfer switch. You may need to see if you are getting power up to the switch, and check if power coming out of it. I grew up with boats, and these switches do go bad....
__________________
ArrrV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 08:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 44
THOR #5409
Does the Thor ace 30.1 have a built in surge protector maybe?
__________________
Codywayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 05:34 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29X
State: Washington
Posts: 23
THOR #1191
I am having the same problem tonight. Got to our RV Park and got all set-up. Have power 30/50 at post surge protector says its good, but no power to my 2013 Hurricane 29x. Does get power from generator. Tried by-passing surge protector and still no power. I don't hear the usual hum from the converter box, so I am assuming it might be that under the bed. Will look tomorrow.
__________________
tomwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 01:35 PM   #7
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Texas
Posts: 44
THOR #5409
It's going to be the plug connection on the outside of the RV. When I took the plug off the wires had melted
__________________
Codywayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 01:48 PM   #8
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 4,823
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codywayne View Post
Does the Thor ace 30.1 have a built in surge protector maybe?
No it does not.
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 06:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Hittntherooad's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 30.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 326
THOR #3952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codywayne View Post
It's going to be the plug connection on the outside of the RV. When I took the plug off the wires had melted
On mine a wire was loose on the receptacle that the power cord plugs in to. It easy to check. Just remove the screws and pull it away from the side. There's plenty of wire inside.
Probably just as easy to put a meter on the shore power wire where it goes into the ATS.
__________________

__________________
Ace 30.1
Hittntherooad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×