Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Motorcoach & Motorhome > Class B & B+ Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-09-2022, 06:16 PM   #1

Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: California
THOR #24416
Radio only with ignition

Newbie here. 2022 Thor Sequence 20K
Can’t seem to find a way to run the radio in the dash without the key in the ignition. With battery switched to on and inverter on the radio will not turn on.
If I turn the ignition on but don’t start the vehicle the radio comes on. Then if I turn the ignition off the radio will play for a short period of time then shut off. It’s a Kenwood radio.

Is there something I’m doing wrong?

Old 01-09-2022, 06:18 PM   #2

Model: Miramar
THOR #22927
Make sure use switch is on, it should work then.
Old 01-09-2022, 06:19 PM   #3

Model: Miramar
THOR #22927
Be sure your house batteries have a good charge.
Old 01-09-2022, 06:36 PM   #4
Site Team

Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
THOR #7035
Sounds like Thor did not bother rerouting power for the dash radio to the house DC buss for your coach. That is OEM radio behavior.
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Toad
2024 Chevrolet Trax 2RS - Soon 2B TOAD
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2022, 06:44 PM   #5

Model: 34E Hurricane
State: Michigan
THOR #25490
If your house power is on, and working, then the radio should work without the ign key on. The radio may only have power from the vehicle ignition circuit. I would contact Thor customer support (I like email with them) and ask what they suggest. Also, if it were me, I would try and see that all rear radio harness connection wires appear connected and that you do not have a wire that is laying loose. Just a thought.
Old 01-09-2022, 09:38 PM   #6

THOR #24416
Thanks everyone. Sounds like I need to contact Thor.
Old 01-10-2022, 09:08 PM   #7