Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2017, 05:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
2015 Thor Axis - Assistance Needed

Hello everyone. Our family is out for it's first excursion for 2017. Heading to our destination, I noticed the side cameras didn't activate when I turned on the turn signals. Further investigation revealed the entire radio system didn't work. Once we arrived, went to open the awning...nothing. However, everything worked FINE once I connected the unit to electrical power at the site? What gives? And please tell me this is going to be an easy fix. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 06:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
upnyfolks's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: New York
Posts: 139
THOR #5875
Check that the Use/Store switch next to the entrance door is in the use position.
__________________

__________________
upnyfolks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 06:45 PM   #3
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,206
THOR #1150
Yup make sure in "use".
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:06 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
It rockers back to the neutral position after activated to "use" position.
__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:23 PM   #5
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,206
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillDawgz
It rockers back to the neutral position after activated to "use" position.
Correct, but if you switch it back and forth between use and store you'll hear the relay/solenoid click. If you hit "use" several times from neutral you'll only hear the click once.

Hence, if you hit "use" and you hear the click then you were on "Store".
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:29 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
Ok. I will try that once I disconnect. Can do that now, as I'm connected to power and don't want to "interrupt" everyone's activities. LOL! Thanks for the assist!
__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
upnyfolks's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: New York
Posts: 139
THOR #5875
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillDawgz View Post
Ok. I will try that once I disconnect. Can do that now, as I'm connected to power and don't want to "interrupt" everyone's activities. LOL! Thanks for the assist!
Making the switch from store to use won't disrupt anything, keep in mind while the switch is in store position that even though you are plugged into shore power your coach batteries are not charging. Charging will only occur when the switch is in use position.
__________________
upnyfolks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:51 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
All of this would affect the turn signal cameras from not working while I'm driving?
__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:54 PM   #9
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 31
THOR #6466
Yes. The radio in the cab only works when the switch is in "use". It's powered from the house battery, not the chassis (engine) battery.
__________________
craigdrabik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 10:07 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigdrabik View Post
Yes. The radio in the cab only works when the switch is in "use". It's powered from the house battery, not the chassis (engine) battery.


Ok. Sounds good. I'll let everyone know how it goes. I'm gonna wait until we leave to test it. Just don't want to be the guy to test it in the middle of the trip and everything goes wrong. #DontWantToBeThatGuy
__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 02:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Alabama
Posts: 31
THOR #6466
One more thing, the house batteries will get charged while driving, but only if the switch is in "use". There's no reason for it to be in "store" while you're actually in the coach I've gotten in the habit of leaving the kitchen light on when I'm not actually driving so I don't accidentally leave it in "use " and discharge the battery.
__________________
craigdrabik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 09:10 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
DocP's Avatar
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Cougar 34TSB
State: Ohio
Posts: 244
THOR #6277
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillDawgz View Post
All of this would affect the turn signal cameras from not working while I'm driving?
It's so funny that this issue is coming up. It actually happened to me last week. I noticed that the radio and none of the 12V lights were working just before pulling out of the campground. I checked all sorts of things and couldn't figure it out. I started the generator and kept it running so that all of these things would work on the trip home. Halfway home, it dawned on me to have my wife check the "Use/Store" rocker switch. That's what it was! She then told me that she was flipping all of the switches by the door to turn the outside light on the previous night (since they are not labeled). I felt foolish for not figuring this out sooner. Live and learn, I guess!
__________________
DocP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 09:17 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport. 35M
State: New York
Posts: 281
THOR #6199
DocP,

Been there,done that. I borrowed a label maker so I could mark all the switches and the receptacles that the inverter powers when I am boondocking. DW really appreciated it. Thought about marking the outside storage compartments also.
__________________
Shawn
2017 Windsport 35M
Shawn62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 09:32 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
DocP's Avatar
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Cougar 34TSB
State: Ohio
Posts: 244
THOR #6277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn62 View Post
DocP,

Been there,done that. I borrowed a label maker so I could mark all the switches and the receptacles that the inverter powers when I am boondocking. DW really appreciated it. Thought about marking the outside storage compartments also.
Thanks - I'll have to do the same.
__________________
DocP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 08:54 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
Yep, that's what it was for me too. Sad thing is everything is labeled on ours.
__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 09:48 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
bevedfelker's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2015 Vegas 24.1
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,308
THOR #2601
I propose Thor rename the USE position to "I apply DC electrical power from your house batteries to everything in the coach, and by the way, I also allow your house batteries to recharge when driving on the road, operating the generator, and when hooked to shore power."

Might be a little big to get on a sticker for above the switch -- but it sure would beat trying to train dealer folks on what that switch does.

I have explained USE/STORE switch and battery charging on the forum more than any other topic.
__________________
Ed & Bev Felker
Retired USAF Col and retired Nurse
Traveling with Lily & Bella ('Teddy Bear' breed)
2015 Vegas 24.1 (E-350)
bevedfelker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 10:11 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Entegra Accolade 37TS
State: Virginia
Posts: 3,478
THOR #1469
FWIW, if you search for "Label Those Switches" you'll read about some of us that ordered labels from Carolina Laser to label the switches in our rigs. Their website is

Legend Plates | Engraved Plastic Labels | Carolina Laser, Inc

Again, for what it's worth.

The thread on the forum is

Label those switches...
__________________
Dave
US Army (Ret)
2020 Entegra Accolade 37TS
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk (Toad)
FMCA - F432054
EA37TS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 10:12 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
croused's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 180
THOR #6877
Quote:
Originally Posted by bevedfelker View Post
I propose Thor rename the USE position to "I apply DC electrical power from your house batteries to everything in the coach, and by the way, I also allow your house batteries to recharge when driving on the road, operating the generator, and when hooked to shore power."

Might be a little big to get on a sticker for above the switch -- but it sure would beat trying to train dealer folks on what that switch does.

I have explained USE/STORE switch and battery charging on the forum more than any other topic.
And you do it well Ed, I'm making your label recommendations now!
__________________
croused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 12:26 AM   #19
Axis/Vegas Enthusiast
 
JamieGeek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Michigan
Posts: 8,206
THOR #1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by bevedfelker
I propose Thor rename the USE position to "I apply DC electrical power from your house batteries to everything in the coach, and by the way, I also allow your house batteries to recharge when driving on the road, operating the generator, and when hooked to shore power."
LOL!

How about: "12V Bat On", and "12V Bat Off"
__________________
2014 Thor Axis 24.1
2018 Chevy Bolt
blog - https://spareelectrons.wordpress.com/
JamieGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 02:54 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
WillDawgz's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.1
State: Tennessee
Posts: 16
THOR #1767
Many thanks to everyone who helped out. I was sure that I was going to have to take it in again for some obscure maintenance issue. So glad it was a simple fix. And I learned something.
__________________

__________________
Phillip & Robin W.
CWO2, USMC (Ret.)
2015 Thor Axis 25.1
WillDawgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×