RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2020, 02:04 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
LandKO's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Arkansas
Posts: 283
THOR #12827
Another add a second air conditioner thread

Sitting in my 32 ft Class C on a hot Arkansas afternoon (In full sun), got me to thinking about adding a second AC unit. Today’s outside air temp was 94 degrees F with a heat index of 109.
My single unit has not shut off all day. It can maintain 82 degrees but that is about it. The air temps coming out of the vents ranges from 51 to 55 degrees, so the AC unit is functioning properly, it just can’t keep with the heat load coming from outside.
I received an email awhile back from RecPro. They are offering a 15K non-ducted heat pump with a remote control. I’m considering a heat pump because I could use it in the winter also for supplemental heat in the bedroom.
If I install this I’d like to run a separate 120v line so I could plug it into the 120v outlet in the power pedestal.
My only concern is how to route the 120v line from the unit to a location accessible from the outside.
Has anyone wired a separate unit like this and if so, how’d you accomplish it?
Thanks for any input.
__________________

__________________
2018 Freedom Elite30FE
Current toad - 2019 GMC Canyon 4WD
Former toad - 2004 Jeep Liberty
LandKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 02:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Arizona
Posts: 610
THOR #3471
Check YouTube there are several videos doesn’t seem to difficult for two strong backs for a weekend project
__________________

__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 03:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,707
THOR #3156
I added a second ac in the bedroom. Ran the wires through the cabinets toward the wall then down to the floor. Everything was either hidden in the cabinet or in the wall. Came out the wall to go under the bed with all the other electrical. Ran wire through the floor with the other wired and mounted a new 30amp plug above the stock plug

I use a 50amp to two 30amp dogbone adapter to tge pedestal

Luckily my friend had a hand crank lift. Lifted it easily to roof height


Not sure how your mh is configured. But look for a pathway to the electrial compartment
JerryClick image for larger version

Name:	20190702_083403.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	77.7 KB
ID:	24973Click image for larger version

Name:	20190702_083351.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	226.2 KB
ID:	24974
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 06:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Long & Winding road's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Axis 25.4
State: Arkansas
Posts: 2,610
THOR #12231
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfprice View Post
I added a second ac in the bedroom. Ran the wires through the cabinets toward the wall then down to the floor. Everything was either hidden in the cabinet or in the wall. Came out the wall to go under the bed with all the other electrical. Ran wire through the floor with the other wired and mounted a new 30amp plug above the stock plug

I use a 50amp to two 30amp dogbone adapter to tge pedestal

Luckily my friend had a hand crank lift. Lifted it easily to roof height


Not sure how your mh is configured. But look for a pathway to the electrial compartment
JerryAttachment 24973Attachment 24974
Thats awesome. Was your a 13500 AC unit or 15000 BTU?

I wonder if a 13500 can plug into a 15 / 20 amp without a soft start? So use the 30 amp for the entire coach and 15 / 20 for 2nd AC unit? Just a thought.
__________________
2017 Axis / 25.4: Big Foot Levelers, Aims 1200 Watt inverter, Ceramic Window Tint, Full River AGM 6V batteries, Front Hellwig Sway bar / Rear Track Arm, Safe T Plus Steering Stabilizer, PD 4655 converter, Hard Wired Surge Guard, WEboost + WiFi Ranger, LED Headlights/Driving lights, TPMS, Surge tank, Tornado flush, Viair Compressor
Long & Winding road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 10:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,707
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Long & Winding road View Post
Thats awesome. Was your a 13500 AC unit or 15000 BTU?



I wonder if a 13500 can plug into a 15 / 20 amp without a soft start? So use the 30 amp for the entire coach and 15 / 20 for 2nd AC unit? Just a thought.
I added the 13500. It can be plugged into a 20 amp no problem. Soft start not needed

I only wired mine to a 30 amp plug because I've been to some cg that only have 50 or 30
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 10:56 PM   #6
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,807
THOR #8860
Gee... I wonder why all of these air conditioner threads always show up in July?
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 11:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Long & Winding road's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Axis 25.4
State: Arkansas
Posts: 2,610
THOR #12231
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfprice View Post
I added the 13500. It can be plugged into a 20 amp no problem. Soft start not needed

I only wired mine to a 30 amp plug because I've been to some cg that only have 50 or 30
Ok, good to know. Thanks.
__________________
2017 Axis / 25.4: Big Foot Levelers, Aims 1200 Watt inverter, Ceramic Window Tint, Full River AGM 6V batteries, Front Hellwig Sway bar / Rear Track Arm, Safe T Plus Steering Stabilizer, PD 4655 converter, Hard Wired Surge Guard, WEboost + WiFi Ranger, LED Headlights/Driving lights, TPMS, Surge tank, Tornado flush, Viair Compressor
Long & Winding road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 11:06 PM   #8
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,807
THOR #8860
You could always "dog-bone" it into whatever outlet is available.
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 11:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Long & Winding road's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2017 Axis 25.4
State: Arkansas
Posts: 2,610
THOR #12231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
Gee... I wonder why all of these air conditioner threads always show up in July?
Good question

Good Old Bob. What would do without you? Die of boredom? LOL
__________________
2017 Axis / 25.4: Big Foot Levelers, Aims 1200 Watt inverter, Ceramic Window Tint, Full River AGM 6V batteries, Front Hellwig Sway bar / Rear Track Arm, Safe T Plus Steering Stabilizer, PD 4655 converter, Hard Wired Surge Guard, WEboost + WiFi Ranger, LED Headlights/Driving lights, TPMS, Surge tank, Tornado flush, Viair Compressor
Long & Winding road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 11:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,042
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfprice View Post
I added a second ac in the bedroom. Ran the wires through the cabinets toward the wall then down to the floor. Everything was either hidden in the cabinet or in the wall. Came out the wall to go under the bed with all the other electrical. Ran wire through the floor with the other wired and mounted a new 30amp plug above the stock plug

I use a 50amp to two 30amp dogbone adapter to tge pedestal

Luckily my friend had a hand crank lift. Lifted it easily to roof height


Not sure how your mh is configured. But look for a pathway to the electrial compartment
JerryAttachment 24973Attachment 24974


So do you pay for a 50Amp site or just a 30Amp?
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 12:42 AM   #11
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 17,807
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Long & Winding road View Post
Good question

Good Old Bob. What would do without you? Die of boredom? LOL
I'm here all week. Don't forget to tip your waiter, and try the veal!
And I work blue after 10:00 PM!
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 01:20 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,269
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandKO View Post
Sitting in my 32 ft Class C on a hot Arkansas afternoon (In full sun), got me to thinking about adding a second AC unit. Today’s outside air temp was 94 degrees F with a heat index of 109.
My single unit has not shut off all day. It can maintain 82 degrees but that is about it. The air temps coming out of the vents ranges from 51 to 55 degrees, so the AC unit is functioning properly, it just can’t keep with the heat load coming from outside.
I received an email awhile back from RecPro. They are offering a 15K non-ducted heat pump with a remote control. I’m considering a heat pump because I could use it in the winter also for supplemental heat in the bedroom.
If I install this I’d like to run a separate 120v line so I could plug it into the 120v outlet in the power pedestal.
My only concern is how to route the 120v line from the unit to a location accessible from the outside.
Has anyone wired a separate unit like this and if so, how’d you accomplish it?
Thanks for any input.
wire mold across the ceiling to a floor to ceiling closet. Go thru closets until you can drill a hole thru the floor. Run the wire thru the hole for about 6" and install a male 120 volt plug. 50' 12 ga extension cord.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 02:37 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Elite Washington's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Washington
Posts: 462
THOR #6433
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfprice View Post
I added a second ac in the bedroom. Ran the wires through the cabinets toward the wall then down to the floor. Everything was either hidden in the cabinet or in the wall. Came out the wall to go under the bed with all the other electrical. Ran wire through the floor with the other wired and mounted a new 30amp plug above the stock plug

I use a 50amp to two 30amp dogbone adapter to tge pedestal

Luckily my friend had a hand crank lift. Lifted it easily to roof height


Not sure how your mh is configured. But look for a pathway to the electrial compartment
JerryAttachment 24973Attachment 24974
That’s a really good idea.
__________________
Elite Washington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:29 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,707
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete'sMH View Post
So do you pay for a 50Amp site or just a 30Amp?
If its summer time 50 amp but I found most cg the price is the same
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:33 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,707
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
You could always "dog-bone" it into whatever outlet is available.
I have every dog bone made. But when using a 30 and 20 amp outlet I found the voltage varied. So my go to set up is 50 amp dog bone to my two 30amp cables


Jerry
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 01:22 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 1,051
THOR #1249
Not sure if this link on AC PM has been posted or not, so here it is. I thought after all these years of RV'ing I pretty much had done it, but this guy has some real handy tips on how to keep your AC running at peak output.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...ature=emb_logo
__________________
2015 Thor Vegas 24.1 in Ocala
mcr1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 02:20 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
LandKO's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Arkansas
Posts: 283
THOR #12827
Thanks for all of the input/suggestions. After reading everything and watching several YouTube videos I think I have a clear idea of what needs to be done.
However, I have one remaining question.
What about a circuit breaker? The videos I’ve seen do not mention a circuit breaker being added for the second AC unit. Since this added line is a single use circuit, are they relying on the circuit breaker at the 120v plug in the power pedestal or should I consider adding a circuit breaker in one of the cabinets I route the wires through?
Thanks
__________________
2018 Freedom Elite30FE
Current toad - 2019 GMC Canyon 4WD
Former toad - 2004 Jeep Liberty
LandKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 02:59 PM   #18
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 5,377
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandKO View Post
Thanks for all of the input/suggestions. After reading everything and watching several YouTube videos I think I have a clear idea of what needs to be done.
However, I have one remaining question.
What about a circuit breaker? The videos I’ve seen do not mention a circuit breaker being added for the second AC unit. Since this added line is a single use circuit, are they relying on the circuit breaker at the 120v plug in the power pedestal or should I consider adding a circuit breaker in one of the cabinets I route the wires through?
Thanks
Do you have a circuit breaker on any other plug-in appliance you have? Other than a GFCI plug on a portable A/C the answer would be "No".
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 03:09 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,707
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandKO View Post
Thanks for all of the input/suggestions. After reading everything and watching several YouTube videos I think I have a clear idea of what needs to be done.

However, I have one remaining question.

What about a circuit breaker? The videos I’ve seen do not mention a circuit breaker being added for the second AC unit. Since this added line is a single use circuit, are they relying on the circuit breaker at the 120v plug in the power pedestal or should I consider adding a circuit breaker in one of the cabinets I route the wires through?

Thanks
Most everyone will say you don't need one but I added one. Home Depot $30 bucks or so for it. Do i need it??? Probably not but my electrial friend say what if the pedestal breaker isn't working correctly. Adding it is a small cost


I went one step further. I added another Progressive Ind. EMS to my second ac. That was expensive but my ac is protected from high low voltage and I can monitor it from its panel.

JerryClick image for larger version

Name:	1562287306161.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	25057
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:26 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
LandKO's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Arkansas
Posts: 283
THOR #12827
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
Do you have a circuit breaker on any other plug-in appliance you have? Other than a GFCI plug on a portable A/C the answer would be "No".
Granted, a regular “plugin device” does not have a dedicated circuit breaker.
However, most plugin devices do not have up to a 15 amp draw at startup. Plus, the typical RV rooftop air conditioner is not designed to be a “plugin “ device although it is possible to use it that way.
I’d prefer some kind of electrical protection other than the campground pedestal circuit breaker.
__________________

__________________
2018 Freedom Elite30FE
Current toad - 2019 GMC Canyon 4WD
Former toad - 2004 Jeep Liberty
LandKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×