RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2020, 05:37 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,089
THOR #6826
I added a dedicated 20A circuit to the center of my coach. I put a small breaker box with a 20a breaker and a 20A power inlet in a basement compartment feeding only the outlet. I use this for a space heater on cold days and my portable AC on very hot ones. If I ever add a second rooftop unit I will use this circuit.
__________________

__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 09:13 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Down South's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E 27.2
State: Louisiana
Posts: 165
THOR #17883
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfprice View Post
I have every dog bone made. But when using a 30 and 20 amp outlet I found the voltage varied. So my go to set up is 50 amp dog bone to my two 30amp cables


Jerry
I'm fighting the same problem with the MH in my Sig. I've been trying many of the things mentioned in the big AC thread. I can maintain 81 in 93 degree weather out in open sun.
I have one 15K BTU and and the Delta T is 24 degrees.

I'd like to make one test and that is to drape a tarp over my front and side windows to get them out of the sun and see what difference that makes. If enough difference, I'll fork out the cash to make custom covers for the outside of the windows.

If that doesn't satisfy my need. I'll do like you did and add a second AC in the bedroom, probably a 13.5.

I liked the way that you set your spare AC up. That was a neat job. If it's cool, you don't even need to hook the other 30A cable up.
__________________

__________________
2017 Thor ACE 27.2
Down South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 11:02 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,710
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down South View Post
I'm fighting the same problem with the MH in my Sig. I've been trying many of the things mentioned in the big AC thread. I can maintain 81 in 93 degree weather out in open sun.
I have one 15K BTU and and the Delta T is 24 degrees.

I'd like to make one test and that is to drape a tarp over my front and side windows to get them out of the sun and see what difference that makes. If enough difference, I'll fork out the cash to make custom covers for the outside of the windows.

If that doesn't satisfy my need. I'll do like you did and add a second AC in the bedroom, probably a 13.5.

I liked the way that you set your spare AC up. That was a neat job. If it's cool, you don't even need to hook the other 30A cable up.
It cost me about $1000 to add the second ac. No labor cost because i did the install. Magne windshield shades are close to that price. Ill take the extra ac any day

With 2 ac units I can keep the inside any temp I want. We usually run the bedroom ac during the day when we're in the livingroom and livingroom ac at night when we're in the bedroom. Doing this really lowers the noise level where we are at and the mh is nice and cold

Jerry
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 01:46 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Down South's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E 27.2
State: Louisiana
Posts: 165
THOR #17883
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfprice View Post
It cost me about $1000 to add the second ac. No labor cost because i did the install. Magne windshield shades are close to that price. Ill take the extra ac any day

With 2 ac units I can keep the inside any temp I want. We usually run the bedroom ac during the day when we're in the livingroom and livingroom ac at night when we're in the bedroom. Doing this really lowers the noise level where we are at and the mh is nice and cold

Jerry
I like your ideas. And I thought of one other thing. If my living room AC bites the dust, I'll still have another to get by until I can repair or replace the main unit.
Now I'm thinking of getting another 15K instead of a 13.5K. Also I'm thinking of getting one with heat strips.
__________________
2017 Thor ACE 27.2
Down South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 04:41 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE29.3
State: Pennsylvania
Posts: 131
THOR #4359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down South View Post
I like your ideas. And I thought of one other thing. If my living room AC bites the dust, I'll still have another to get by until I can repair or replace the main unit.
Now I'm thinking of getting another 15K instead of a 13.5K. Also I'm thinking of getting one with heat strips.
I added a second 15,000 btu unit to the bedroom in 2017.
One of the best mods. It can be 90 outside 69 inside and the two units will cycle unlike the one unit running all day.

If you do get the heater make sure you order the correct control box to allow that option .
I Also added the heater to the front unit and replaced the control box .

I would also suggest you getting a digital thermostat front and back unit ( optional)
Also when you run the wire for the rear unit pull a thermostat wire just in case you want to add a second Thermostat ilo the roof top controls.( I made that mistake)

The heaters will not heat the unit initially. But will maintain the rv once the propane furnace get the temperature up .
I have used them to about 20 degrees and they maintained the rv ilo the propane last year at thanksgiving.

More info and some pics can be found below.

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f121/ace...23543-101.html
Posting 1401
See also posting 1936
See also posting 1407 for a list of other great mods

Hope this helps
__________________
2015 ACE 29.3
Mousemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:31 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,287
THOR #15553
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandKO View Post
Granted, a regular ďplugin deviceĒ does not have a dedicated circuit breaker.
However, most plugin devices do not have up to a 15 amp draw at startup. Plus, the typical RV rooftop air conditioner is not designed to be a ďplugin ď device although it is possible to use it that way.
Iíd prefer some kind of electrical protection other than the campground pedestal circuit breaker.
Redone-dent breakers is a waist of time and money. Two is no more protection than one.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 02:47 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Arizona
Posts: 623
THOR #3471
For a non-ducted application the best 13.5k BTU RV AC unit with a heat strip is the Advent Air part # ACM135BCH which also comes with a start capacitor and the lower vent assembly/control panel so it's the only thing you'd need aside from running power to it.
__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 03:38 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
LandKO's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Arkansas
Posts: 283
THOR #12827
Iím looking at this one from RecPro.
https://www.recpro.com/rv-air-condit...mp-non-ducted/
Looks like it comes with everything including a remote control that is also the thermostat.
Iíve already replaced the thermostat for the existing AC unit with a digital one.
__________________
2018 Freedom Elite30FE
Current toad - 2019 GMC Canyon 4WD
Former toad - 2004 Jeep Liberty
LandKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 04:03 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Model: 25.2 Axis
State: Arizona
Posts: 623
THOR #3471
Heat pump wonít work below 40 degrees
__________________
Hugh.vines@att.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 05:08 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,354
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh.vines@att.net View Post
Heat pump wonít work below 40 degrees
Not exactly accurate for Coleman mach 8 Plus. True the heat pump will not come on is the outside ambient is below freezing (this is because the heat pump dies not have a defrost cycle like a home heat pump), but mach 8 cuts over the the heat strip if the thermostat calls for heat mode 2. Mode one heat is the furnace.


As for the second A/C, I wanted a quiet Mach 8 plus for the bedroom (16 amps draw). When I bought my coach, 50 amp power center was not an option, so I planned to install one with the second A/C. Our first trip with 30 amps proved I did need 50 amps, as I couldn't even run the microwave (15 amps) water heater (11 amps), charger (2 amps) and DirecTV (3 amps) with out tripping the main CB. It took couple weeks to collect the parts: power cord, inlet, transfer switch, EMS, inverter, thermostat, power center and aux CB panel. Wiring was straight forward except for the 12 volt mess which to a day to wire correctly due to the interrupt relays and Rapid Camp circuit board. I ran the 12 awg and 20 awg wires up the Thor chase for the original bedroom fan and had a a local RV repair place install the heat pump, as it is to heavy for an 80 year old to wrestle with. The reason for a new inverter was a 30 amp pass-trough to allow three different 15 amp, 120 volt circuits on the inverter. This allows a 20 amp CAFCI circuit (I hate GFCI duplex outlets) for the kitchen, bathroom and outside duplex receptacles in the main CB panel. Now I can run basically everything in the coach at the same time and the EMS shows I have a balanced load of 35 amps on each leg and plenty of head room for more stuff.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 05:19 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
LandKO's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Elite 30FE
State: Arkansas
Posts: 283
THOR #12827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh.vines@att.net View Post
Heat pump wonít work below 40 degrees
I understand that a heat pump begins to loose efficiency below 40 degrees, but will continue to provide some heat until 30 degrees.
I would be using the heat function in early spring or late fall and only as a supplement to the propane furnace.
Here in Arkansas, we normally get freezing temps (if at all) only in December thru February.

I gave up winter camping years ago.


Thanks for the reply though.
__________________
2018 Freedom Elite30FE
Current toad - 2019 GMC Canyon 4WD
Former toad - 2004 Jeep Liberty
LandKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:34 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Down South's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: A.C.E 27.2
State: Louisiana
Posts: 165
THOR #17883
I have another idea on wiring up the second AC in the bedroom.
Instead of installing a second 30A twist lock receptacle on the MH. Could I install a 50A twist lock instead?
My thinking is to hook one leg of the 50A to the 30A for the RV and hook the new AC up to the other leg.
I would have to make sure the 30A for the RV is on the correct leg just in case I ever needed to hook up to a 50A to 30A dogbone.

This would save me the problem of having to hook up two 30A supply cords to a 50A to twin 30A dogbone.

The only problem that I see is the new AC in the bedroom would not have power if hooked up to a 30A pedestal. Which is fine since a 30A would not pull both AC’s anyway.
__________________
2017 Thor ACE 27.2
Down South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:54 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
halfprice's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: California
Posts: 2,710
THOR #3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down South View Post
I have another idea on wiring up the second AC in the bedroom.
Instead of installing a second 30A twist lock receptacle on the MH. Could I install a 50A twist lock instead?
My thinking is to hook one leg of the 50A to the 30A for the RV and hook the new AC up to the other leg.
I would have to make sure the 30A for the RV is on the correct leg just in case I ever needed to hook up to a 50A to 30A dogbone.

This would save me the problem of having to hook up two 30A supply cords to a 50A to twin 30A dogbone.

The only problem that I see is the new AC in the bedroom would not have power if hooked up to a 30A pedestal. Which is fine since a 30A would not pull both ACís anyway.
Don't know if that would work but in theory I would say yes. I dont know how the neutral and ground would attch. I'm no electrian

If a park doesn't have 50amp they probably do have a 30 and 20. So your 50 amp way could only do the 30 as you said

The way I did it with two 30s at the mh I could run both cords and plug 1 into the 30 and the other into the 20 with a dogbone. Both ac working and I'm cool


Jerry
__________________
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...mods-4609.html
Jerry, Maria, and Sasha 6lb Yorkie
2017 Thor Hurricane 29M
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
FMCA # F464385
halfprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 09:16 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Citation
State: Texas
Posts: 458
THOR #8139
It'll work, almost all 50amp RV's (99.99%) are wired this way.
__________________
abjbrtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2020, 11:39 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: California
Posts: 257
THOR #3186
I bought my Coleman 13,000 on sale. Ran a 120 Rome’s on the inside of the roof panel to above the TV cabinet and then into the closet and down to the outside next to the furnace bay. Used a marine male outlet on the sidewall. I bought a 50A to 2 30A on eBay. Rum the main 30A off one and use a 30A to 20A spade plug adapter and run a regular 120V 12g extension cord to my marine male outlet. Works perfect. Coach now cools at 110 outside. May install a thermostat but I also may make a “stick” with grooves to rotate the ceiling knobs.
__________________
Forest Grump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2020, 11:55 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,089
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Grump View Post
I bought my Coleman 13,000 on sale. Ran a 120 Romeís on the inside of the roof panel to above the TV cabinet and then into the closet and down to the outside next to the furnace bay. Used a marine male outlet on the sidewall. I bought a 50A to 2 30A on eBay. Rum the main 30A off one and use a 30A to 20A spade plug adapter and run a regular 120V 12g extension cord to my marine male outlet. Works perfect. Coach now cools at 110 outside. May install a thermostat but I also may make a ďstickĒ with grooves to rotate the ceiling knobs.


Why didnít you just buy a 50A to 30A and 20A adapter? I use mine sometimes to run my 30A coach and my 20A second AC if, for some reason I canít use the 30 and 20A pedestal outlets. Also, I put a 20A circuit breaker on my second AC circuit so that when Iím using an adapter from the 50A outlet there still will be protection on the coach. Safety first!
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 12:04 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: California
Posts: 257
THOR #3186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete'sMH View Post
Why didnít you just buy a 50A to 30A and 20A adapter? I use mine sometimes to run my 30A coach and my 20A second AC if, for some reason I canít use the 30 and 20A pedestal outlets. Also, I put a 20A circuit breaker on my second AC circuit so that when Iím using an adapter from the 50A outlet there still will be protection on the coach. Safety first!
Why limit my options? The 50A circuit has a break in the pedestal. I don't see the need for a second in line circuit breaker.
__________________
Forest Grump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 12:26 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: 44' Santa Fe
State: Montana
Posts: 360
THOR #2053
Yea=It has a 50a breaker for your 20a circuit. Things like this is why people who ALMOST know something are so dangerous and why there are so many electrical fires.

Bill
__________________
If you are afraid to speak the truth out of fear of what others may think, it says a lot about who you are and what you will settle for.
Porkchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 12:44 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Newmar Bay Star Sport 300
State: Alabama
Posts: 3,089
THOR #6826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Grump View Post
Why limit my options? The 50A circuit has a break in the pedestal. I don't see the need for a second in line circuit breaker.


Well itís because when youíre using your adapter the pedestal breaker wonít trip until youíre pulling more than 50A and the 14 or 12 ga Romex you used for your second AC needs to be limited to 15 or 20A respectively. It does not limit any options.
__________________
Pete'sMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 01:06 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: California
Posts: 257
THOR #3186
Dangerous.

Ok I know something and Iím evidently dangerous. So explain to me your theory on circuit breakers and their purpose please, Iím intrigued.

Both of u guys, Iím waiting.
__________________

__________________
Forest Grump is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×