Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2017, 04:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
sage's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 182
THOR #6999
Send a message via Skype™ to sage
RV & SmartThings?

I'm wondering if anyone out there has tried setting up a SmartThings hub in their RV? And if there are any network connected (WiFi, Zigbee or Z-Wave) 12V LED bulbs anyone has run across? Or tried to run an Amazon Echo or Dot in their coach?

__________________
sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 05:41 PM   #2
Member
 
lo-tek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.3
State: Texas
Posts: 70
THOR #6728
Not yet but I intend to try.
__________________
weekend adventurer
drive: 2018 Thor Palazzo 36.3
tows: 2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
lo-tek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 09:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DogLovers's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Thor Tuscany 36 MQ
State: Indiana
Posts: 627
THOR #6280
Oh no you just got me thinking again!
__________________
DogLovers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 09:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Felices30.2's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 30.2
State: Texas
Posts: 75
THOR #6917
Easy to accomplish

So the Smart device system would not really need internet to work, it only needs a network and for you user phone to be connected to that same network.

So you could control everything with phone when you are in or near the coach. When you get to a location with internet, you could then connect the router to that network.
__________________
Felices30.2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 11:29 PM   #5
Member
 
lo-tek's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.3
State: Texas
Posts: 70
THOR #6728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felices30.2 View Post
So the Smart device system would not really need internet to work, it only needs a network and for you user phone to be connected to that same network..
SmartThings is cloud based so you'd need a connection for it. Alexa as well. I'd love to find some trickle type LTE network that i could leave on 24x7 that wouldn't break the bank. None of these devices need bandwidth unless they are streaming (I'm taking to you Alexa.)

I'm going to bring my Echo Dot with me next time I go out if there's a promise of Wifi.
__________________
lo-tek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 12:06 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sage's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Vegas 25.2
State: Massachusetts
Posts: 182
THOR #6999
Send a message via Skype™ to sage
Verizon MiFi

I have a Verizon MiFi router that I intend to use. And I've got an old Version 1 SmartThings hub that I'm going to use for a while, sort of a proof of concept implementation. The issue is that I can't find any 12V LED networked bulbs. So I may have to go into the walls and put in Z-Wave switches. I hope not to have to go that route but it is an option.

I'm wondering if anyone has tried replacing the standard thermostat with a Nest or an Ecobee 3?
__________________
sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
echo, smartthings, z-wave, zigbee

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2