Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Community Forums > Thor Owners Community Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2021, 03:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
VJRocky's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: New York
Posts: 140
THOR #5840
Unhappy Driveway outlet (GFCI) trips

2014 Hurricane 34E
WFCO Converter "WF9855"
Furion Transfer Switch "F50-ATS" 50 AMP

Hi all, well I have a new electrical issue on a MH that has not given me issues in a long time. I always plug in at the driveway to keep the batteries charged and give me some AC while inside. I recently had the batteries changed (new) at my local RV maintenance shop. When I returned home and plugged in, the GFCI outlet on the driveway tripped. So far I have checked all connections, changed the GFCI outlet, and by the process of elimination turned off all AC breakers and then turned on one at a time. The results are that anytime I turn on the breaker for either the converter, front or rear AC units the driveway outlet trips. If I connect to a non GFCI outlet everything works with all breakers turned on. Aside from the batteries, nothing else has changed. Let me add that the AC units don't cause a trip of the outlet until I turn one of them on. The driveway outlet trips as soon as I turn turn on the breaker for the converter. Any ideas?

__________________
VJRocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 04:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,985
THOR #6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by VJRocky View Post
2014 Hurricane 34E
WFCO Converter "WF9855"
Furion Transfer Switch "F50-ATS" 50 AMP

Hi all, well I have a new electrical issue on a MH that has not given me issues in a long time. I always plug in at the driveway to keep the batteries charged and give me some AC while inside. I recently had the batteries changed (new) at my local RV maintenance shop. When I returned home and plugged in, the CFI outlet on the driveway tripped. So far I have checked all connections, changed the CFI outlet, and by the process of elimination turned off all AC breakers and then turned on one at a time. The results are that anytime I turn on the breaker for either the converter, front or rear AC units the driveway outlet trips. If I connect to a non CFI outlet everything works with all breakers turned on. Aside from the batteries, nothing else has changed. Let me add that the AC units don't cause a trip of the outlet until I turn one of them on. The driveway outlet trips as soon as I turn turn on the breaker for the converter. Any ideas?
Generally a GFCI will trip when the current flow is different between the black and white wire (power and neutral). Usually the leakage is to ground from the white wire or it can be from the lack of a good ground. Sometimes is just a whisker wire of the neutral cable touching a ground terminal. Happy hunting.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 05:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Missouri
Posts: 1,721
THOR #6903
You must be using a 30 amp to 15 amp dog bone adapter

Start with it and the plug on your RV
__________________
lwmcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 05:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
VJRocky's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: New York
Posts: 140
THOR #5840
I am using a 50 AMP to 15 AMP dog bone which is a new replacement. I have also used several extension cords from the driveway outlet to the dog bone. I have been using this setup for 6 years without any issues. Everything was working before I brought it in for new batteries. I can't imaging what changing the batteries could have done. That's DC current. Individually, any one of the breakers for AC or Converter trips the outlet as soon as they are turned on.
__________________
VJRocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 05:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Judge's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Magnitude SV34
State: Florida
Posts: 2,533
THOR #12751
Before I built my pole building, I would plug in my Super C with a 50A to 15A dogbone to a GFCI outlet that convenient from where it was parked in the driveway. My stock WFCO Converter would trip the GFCI occassionally. Never had any issues when I was plugged into a regular 15A outlet.

I eventually replaced the WFCO with a Progressive Dynamics Converter because I wanted a better Converter / Charger. I can't remember if I ever tried it on the GFCI once I got the garage built. In any case, I did check all the wiring in the coach, including the outlet the Converter was plugged into and everything checked out.

The total length of the wire in a GFCI circuit can have an effect on the GFCI outlets performance. When you get over 100 - 150' capacitive leakages can occur due to the wire length of the circuit and may exceed the threshold of the GFCI. The actual length limitations vary depending on wire type and size. If you have a 50' extension cord and long wire runs through you house on that GFCI circuit, it could be contributiing to your issue.
__________________
Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 05:35 PM   #6
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 7,155
THOR #7035
When you say "CFI" do you mean GFCI?

If it worked before and now trips a GFCI after changing the batteries it's hard to imagine how changing the batteries caused this problem. Especially when it is also the A/Cs that trip it as well, but SINCE THE A/Cs and the thermostat get their control power from the DC buss try this experiment:

Remove the ground side cable from your new batteries and see if the converter trips the GFCI. If not, then see if the A/Cs trip the GFCI.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 05:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
VJRocky's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: New York
Posts: 140
THOR #5840
Yes, sorry, I mean the GFCI at the driveway outlet. My extension cord run is 50' and rated for 20 AMPS. The same cord for several years. I did try turning off the battery disconnect with no help, but that's connected to positive only. I'll try disconnecting the negative terminal too.
__________________
VJRocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 06:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
VJRocky's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: New York
Posts: 140
THOR #5840
Well, disconnecting the ground terminal AND the positive terminal from the batteries did not have any effect. As soon as I flipped the breaker for the converter it tripped the driveway outlet. Tried it again with the AC and as soon as I turned on the AC (converter not on) it tripped the driveway outlet. So, I guess this is going to take some time to sort out. I am wondering if the converter is causing this, but with the breaker off and it still happening with the AC, I'm not sure about that.

Thanks to all for now. Feel free to add more comments anytime.
Happy travels, stay safe, pay it forward any time you can.
__________________
VJRocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 08:18 PM   #9
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 7,155
THOR #7035
It trips on either A/C right? They should be on separate breakers and run from separate sides of the split 240 VAC lines.

In any case you probably need to unplug from SP and break out the Ohmmeter and start testing neutral to ground connections on the offending circuits. There should be no continuity from neutral to ground anywhere in the MH except on the output of the generator.

I would also quiz your battery installers. Did they have the most junior guy in the shop do this "simple" job and accidentally short + to ground? Did they do anything else in conjunction with the battery replacement where they may have driven a screw through a hidden wire?

When you figure this out please come back and let us know what you found to help out the next guy with a similar problem.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 10:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 24.1
State: Connecticut
Posts: 775
THOR #20289
What does "new replacement" mean in this sentence: I am using a 50 AMP to 15 AMP dog bone which is a new replacement.

If it means it is a new dog bone adapter, maybe that is the problem. 15A/110V to 50A/110/220V adapters for RV use are a bit strange. They take the 110 volt power from that side and apply it to both 110V legs of the 50A side but they are both in the same phase unlike standard 50/110/220V power.

Maybe something is wrong with the current adapter or wrong with its predecessor and it worked then but not now.

David
__________________
DavidEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 11:22 PM   #11
Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 88
THOR #22490
May just be a fault with the GFCI, might be easier and cheaper to replace that before going too in depth.
__________________
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 11:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Freedom Traveller A27
State: North Carolina
Posts: 585
THOR #17765
I canít run one AC on a 15 a circuit. My Coleman Mach 3 pulls 16.7 a at compressor start up.
__________________
Jimbo56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 11:50 PM   #13
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 7,155
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by VJRocky View Post
2014 Hurricane 34E
WFCO Converter "WF9855"
Furion Transfer Switch "F50-ATS" 50 AMP

Hi all, well I have a new electrical issue on a MH that has not given me issues in a long time. I always plug in at the driveway to keep the batteries charged and give me some AC while inside. I recently had the batteries changed (new) at my local RV maintenance shop. When I returned home and plugged in, the GFCI outlet on the driveway tripped. So far I have checked all connections, changed the GFCI outlet, and by the process of elimination turned off all AC breakers and then turned on one at a time. The results are that anytime I turn on the breaker for either the converter, front or rear AC units the driveway outlet trips. If I connect to a non GFCI outlet everything works with all breakers turned on. Aside from the batteries, nothing else has changed. Let me add that the AC units don't cause a trip of the outlet until I turn one of them on. The driveway outlet trips as soon as I turn turn on the breaker for the converter. Any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trophy1200 View Post
May just be a fault with the GFCI, might be easier and cheaper to replace that before going too in depth.
__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 12:00 AM   #14
Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 88
THOR #22490
Oh Holier than thou Ted, sorry but I've been working all day and have another 4 hours to go and didn't remember what I read quickly 8 hours ago.

Your sarcastic posts to we lesser mortals are beginning to be repetitive and annoying, but thanks for pointing out my glaring mistake.

What penance do you suggest for my sin?


To the OP, my apologies for not remembering the fact that you had already done what I suggested. Good luck with your search for a solution.
__________________
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 01:49 AM   #15
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 33.1
State: Alabama
Posts: 43
THOR #21442
My driveway outlet had the same problem. I have a 50 amp coach. Adapting down to 15. Suddenly kept popping the gfi outlet in the driveway. Even with all baskets off. I'm still under warranty, the dealer was able to pinpoint it to a wire grounding out in the A/C unit. He said it probably happened from all the vibration.
__________________
Dafoot2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 02:00 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 3,554
THOR #13932
My exact same problem as yours was a 110v dead short to ground.
Coach breaker held, coach gfci held, garage breaker tripped.
A hot wire pulled to ground when my slide was full open...no other time.
A couple of household electricians didn't figure it out.
I told cw the symptoms and they fixed my only warranty claim, in a day.
__________________
Below is a link to most of my modifications either accomplished or pending.
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...n-18996-3.html

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 02:40 PM   #17
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 7,155
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trophy1200 View Post
Oh Holier than thou Ted, sorry but I've been working all day and have another 4 hours to go and didn't remember what I read quickly 8 hours ago.

Your sarcastic posts to we lesser mortals are beginning to be repetitive and annoying, but thanks for pointing out my glaring mistake.

What penance do you suggest for my sin?


To the OP, my apologies for not remembering the fact that you had already done what I suggested. Good luck with your search for a solution.
WOW! Somebody's sensitive to a little jab. I hope I didn't make too big of a mess:

__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
2020 Chevy Colorado Z71 Trail Runner Alternate Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 02:54 PM   #18
Member
 
Trophy1200's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 34F
State: Alberta
Posts: 88
THOR #22490
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16ACE27 View Post
WOW! Somebody's sensitive to a little jab. I hope I didn't make too big of a mess:

Not sensitive at all and yes I’m wearing my big boy pants.

I just don’t see the need for your condescending replies to members’ posts where you feel the need to enlarge the font size, change the font colour and post a gif or meme.

It would have been a lot less effort if you just said that the OP had already done what I suggested, or better yet, say nothing and let the OP respond.

I’m not surprised that new members don’t come back to their posts if a 6,000 plus post member is constantly making posts like yours. Especially from a “site team” member.

We all try to help each other if able but belittling others efforts is not the way to do it.

Remember to err is human, to forgive divine.
__________________
Kev

2015 Thor Windsport 34F = empty pockets
No toad YET
REME veteran
Trophy1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 08:05 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
VJRocky's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: New York
Posts: 140
THOR #5840
Thanks to all. Will follow-up with your suggestions when. I revisit the issue.
__________________
VJRocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 07:04 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
VJRocky's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34E
State: New York
Posts: 140
THOR #5840
Hi to all. So today I revisited my problem with the GFCI tripping. With SP on I checked every outlet with a circuit tester. All tested good. Then, to be redundant, I disconnected SP and used an Ohm meter to check for continuity on every outlet. Again, all checked out OK. I have one GFCI outlet in the stair well that I believe feeds all outlets ( not entirely sure about that and have not confirmed). As far as I can tell everything checks out OK. I haven't been able to speak to the service mechanic that changed my batteries as of yet. Its on my list. I also removed a recliner to get at an outlet on the floor that it plugs into. No issues there either. I can turn on every breaker except the converter without the outlet tripping. That includes the AC units (2). As soon as I turn on either the converter or one of the AC units the outlet trips. Otherwise all other breakers for the rest of the MH have no effect on the outlet. What is common to the AC's and the converter?
__________________
VJRocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci, trip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2