Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2020, 07:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Outlaw 29J
State: Kansas
Posts: 19
THOR #18727
30 amp or just regular home plug in?

I just had a new PAd pured for me to park my RV beside my Garage. I have the opportunity to run Electric out there. Is it smarter and safer to go ahead and have an electrician install 30 amp hookup so when The RV sits out there in between camping trips. Or is it better to just use the reducer and plug it in to my 110 outlet?
__________________

__________________
ClassCnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Citation
State: Texas
Posts: 344
THOR #8139
Go for the 30amp, not much higher...But wait what if you upgrade your rv to a 50amp go for the 50 and a 50 to 30 dog bone more $'s but much cheaper this time.
__________________

__________________
abjbrtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:30 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Outlaw 29J
State: Kansas
Posts: 19
THOR #18727
Thank you
__________________
ClassCnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:39 PM   #4
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 14,786
THOR #8860
Definitely go for power at your pad!
30 amp or 50: that's up to you.
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Aria 3401
State: Arkansas
Posts: 99
THOR #12542
I'll also jump on the dedicated RV outlet bandwagon. I sometimes wish that I had put in a 50A outlet instead of 30A, but the 30A is sufficient the vast majority of the time.
__________________
jtyphoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 08:47 PM   #6
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 14,786
THOR #8860
We're putting a 30 amp outlet by our pad. The Missus has guaranteed me that we'll never buy a 50 amp rig.
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 09:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
The_Breeze's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 31L
State: Florida
Posts: 1,389
THOR #12189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Denman View Post
We're putting a 30 amp outlet by our pad. The Missus has guaranteed me that we'll never buy a 50 amp rig.
Baaagak bok bok bok bok. Baaagak bok bok bok bok.

I'm KIDDING Bob. If we were sitting around a campfire that would have been followed by a laugh and then a crack in the mouth from your DW.

Or maybe something like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	115737714_2652659504835514_1378301460555598150_n.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	25085  
__________________
The_Breeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 09:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Brand: DRV
Model: Mobile Suites 36RSB3
State: Oregon
Posts: 77
THOR #17449
If you will be running the power anyway. I would go with a pedestal that has both 30 and 50 amp. Better resale if and when you decide to sell the house.
__________________
GTM41261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 09:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 2,066
THOR #13932
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTM41261 View Post
If you will be running the power anyway. I would go with a pedestal that has both 30 and 50 amp. Better resale if and when you decide to sell the house.
Do this.
The only extra costs are minimal.
It is a HUGE selling point.
We have all three installed just like at an rv site. (we think. Magically the SECOND electrician found an 'Extra' 220v line for the microwave in the house. I haven't checked the 50 AMP RVsince....)

Did you run a sewer dump line while you had a chance?
__________________
Below is a link to most of my modifications either accomplished or pending.
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...n-18996-3.html

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
The_Breeze's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 31L
State: Florida
Posts: 1,389
THOR #12189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducksface View Post
Do this.
The only extra costs are minimal.
It is a HUGE selling point.
We have all three installed just like at an rv site. (we think. Magically the SECOND electrician found an 'Extra' 220v line for the microwave in the house. I haven't checked the 50 AMP RVsince....)

Did you run a sewer dump line while you had a chance?
He can still do that. It would just be off-pad. The sewer proposition depends. City or septic and where exiting lines run. If he can't tee into a pipe somewhere close, it may be cost prohibitive.
__________________
The_Breeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
ducksface's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2018 24.1 AXISSIXxSIX
State: Arizona
Posts: 2,066
THOR #13932
We've had dumps on sewer and septic.
The sewer one we had to sneak in a T and three feet of pipe because the city couldn't make a decision.
The one we have now is on septic but it's a 100ft run I sure wouldn't have put in. The house builder did it.
Either way its sure nice to be able to dump at the house.
__________________
Below is a link to most of my modifications either accomplished or pending.
https://www.thorforums.com/forums/f2...n-18996-3.html

Click on my pictures then click the pop-up for a full screen zoomable picture.
ducksface is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:37 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35m
State: North Carolina
Posts: 143
THOR #13505
Heck yeah run power!!! I just rewired my breaker box from 30 to 50 amps so I can run both AC's in our rig when sitting next to house. I leave one ac on all the time during this Stupid heat wave! Don't want no stinking mildew growing in the rig!
__________________
Retired Squid who has a retired squid that drives him around in a RV!
macdaddy1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:54 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
The_Breeze's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 31L
State: Florida
Posts: 1,389
THOR #12189
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdaddy1111 View Post
Heck yeah run power!!! I just rewired my breaker box from 30 to 50 amps so I can run both AC's in our rig when sitting next to house. I leave one ac on all the time during this Stupid heat wave! Don't want no stinking mildew growing in the rig!
Go to the dollar store and buy those moisture absorbing gadgets. Buck a piece. I stored my RV in Ocala, FL July-Dec. Visited the storage lot once a week to see if I needed to change them out. No sign of mold/mildew to this day and a lot cheaper than the electric bill. I'm 33' One in the front, one in the rear.
__________________
The_Breeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 11:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Brand: Keystone
Model: Sprinter
State: Florida
Posts: 1,010
THOR #15553
Go with 30. You do not need 50 at home. you arm not living in it. You can plug a 50 into a 30 with a dog bone and get by very well.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 11:46 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 35m
State: North Carolina
Posts: 143
THOR #13505
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Breeze View Post
Go to the dollar store and buy those moisture absorbing gadgets. Buck a piece. I stored my RV in Ocala, FL July-Dec. Visited the storage lot once a week to see if I needed to change them out. No sign of mold/mildew to this day and a lot cheaper than the electric bill. I'm 33' One in the front, one in the rear.
Thanks for info!

We use our rig around 2 weeks of every month, 1/2 month is managing crap load of rentals in mildew prone camp lejeune area then we bug out! Plus we sleep in it more than we do in the big house! ha!

Solared up like a big dog so don't see much on compound bill.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	macdaddycompound.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	204.9 KB
ID:	25093  
__________________
Retired Squid who has a retired squid that drives him around in a RV!
macdaddy1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 11:46 PM   #16
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 14,786
THOR #8860
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Breeze View Post
Baaagak bok bok bok bok. Baaagak bok bok bok bok.

I'm KIDDING Bob. If we were sitting around a campfire that would have been followed by a laugh and then a crack in the mouth from your DW.

Or maybe something like this:
I see you've met my Missus...
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 12:26 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
dkoldman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Sunstar 29VE Winnebago
State: Texas
Posts: 586
THOR #13058
You must get the at a minimum the 30 amps, but before you do ask the electrician the difference in cost to install 50amp vs 30 amps. It will cost more but if you have a RV and apad the difference is negligible.

Do you need a 50 amp right now? No, can you get by without 50 amps later? yes but why people that do this don't get the 50/30/20 amp pedestal baffles me In my case, I wired it myself it was only about $100 difference in wiring and the pedestal. I have 50 amp RV but I used all three including the 20 amp with no issue until this summer, I leave it on 50 amps now because of the heat and when two ACs are needed.

Buy it and don't look back

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Po...sc__WA35374353
__________________
2019 Sunstar 29VE w/Magellan Tent
Safe T Plus EC-30 AGS
Nighthawk X4 AC2200 WiFi EX7300; H/W Heater & Chassis Disconnect Switches; Southwire Surge Guard 44270
dkoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 01:10 AM   #18
I Think We're Lost!
 
Bob Denman's Avatar
 
Brand: Still Looking
Model: Tiffin Wayfarer 24 BW
State: New York
Posts: 14,786
THOR #8860
I will say that having a 20 amp outlet in the box could come in handy.
I've got a battery-powered string trimmer, and I often have three batteries sucking in a charge while I drain the fourth...
__________________
Bob Denman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 01:49 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Elite Washington's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Washington
Posts: 365
THOR #6433
We just did a 30 amp but looking back it would had been nice to add a 20 amp for an extra outlet outside.
__________________
2017 Freedom Elite 30fe 2013 Wrangler Unlimited toad.
Elite Washington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 02:01 AM   #20
Site Team
 
16ACE27's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: ACE 27.1
State: Florida
Posts: 4,593
THOR #7035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite Washington View Post
We just did a 30 amp but looking back it would had been nice to add a 20 amp for an extra outlet outside.
Every 30 amp outlet we have ever installed has always had a 30/15 amp adapter puck in it when no RV was plugged in. Great for that outdoor outlet you're always looking for.
__________________

__________________
Ted & Melinda
2016 ACE 27.1
2016 Chevy Sonic Toad
16ACE27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×