Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2021, 08:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
Angry Radio and cameras not working

2017 Thor Challenger XE Rear and side cameras and radio not working.
Checked every fuse I could find. All good.
Anyone know exactly where the fuse may be
I could have missed.?
Radio is a axxera with touchscreen. Does not have navigation.
I have tried resetting it with little reset button. No luck.
Checked fuses in battery compartment,under hood, two boxes under
Dash and 12 volt in main circuit box.
Thanks
DD

__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 09:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 29M
State: Texas
Posts: 1,503
THOR #11781
Use/store switch in use mode?
__________________
Lt Keefer
2018 Hurricane 29M
CHF, Saf-T-Plus, SumoSprings
Lt Keefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 09:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
Store use switch is on
__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 09:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RV Pirate's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger 37 LX
State: Florida
Posts: 296
THOR #7853
The only fuse location I'm aware of that's radio related should be the one on the driver's side floor, which I'm sure you've checked.

Other than that , sounds like maybe a connection on the stereo shook loose. The other thing I'd look for is a loose ground wire somewhere. I had a loose ground under the hood, driver's side where the front cap bolts to the frame. There's a ground wire on one other the bracket bolts. Mine was loose causing multiple electrical gremlins, including the cameras and turn signals..
Hope this helps. Let us know what you find.
__________________
Work Like a Captain, Play Like a Pirate...

<'))))>(
RV Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 12:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr Sunshine's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2016 Vegas 25.2
State: Florida
Posts: 2,379
THOR #1589
There's a fuse on the back of the radio. You probably have to pull the radio out to find it. There is a special tool (like a shiv) that you use to release both sides. You might find those release tools with the manual for the radio.
__________________
There are friends, there are family, and then there are friends that become family!
Mr Sunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 03:10 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
I may have to do that. Still looking!
__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 07:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Axis 25.3
State: Michigan
Posts: 97
THOR #20290
Just for good measure, recheck those easy to access fuses in the panel in the coach. Don't go searching for zebras just yet.

I came here to search for solutions since our radio that worked fine last week suddenly had no power today. DH "checked" the fuses and also tried the reset button a few times; nadda. He was about to go zebra hunting but thought it would at least be worth seeing if he could get any hints/help from Thor.

While he was in the Thor support hold-que, he dinked around checking the fuses again. I was don't something else and suddenly... we have a radio again. I asked what fuse he just pulled and reseated. Radio/audio naturally. Yea!

Hope your search turns out to end that easily as well. Sending you easy cure vibes.
__________________
RVwife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 08:22 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
Thanks RV wife

RV Wife. Thanks for the suggestion. Can you tell me a little more on
Where the fuse was located. I have checked the two fuse boxes under
The dash. The only thing I have found is one fuse in the Ford fuse box
That says radio. I havenít seen anything that say radio/audio.
Thanks
DD
__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 02:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 31S
State: Texas
Posts: 2,667
THOR #6411
Where might the radio fuse be?

It seems each Thor MC plant wires the radios differently. I can only speak to the radio wiring in my coach. The memory function power for both radios comes from the chassis battery through the 100 amp, 12 volt circuit breaker next to the battery. There is an additional five amp inline fuse in the radio's hookup circuitry near the radio itself. Both radios are powered from a 15 amp fuse located in the power center under the bed. Both electrical circuits must be energized for either radio to work.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Rampside in tow
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 02:48 PM   #10
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 5,773
THOR #1469
On a Challenger pull off the top of the dash over the radio and instrument panel and you will have access to the radio, harness, in line fuse and camera switch box. On our 2015 ND the wiring was a mess but our major problem wound up being as bad radio replaced with another bad radio and finally the third radio worked until trade in.
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 03:47 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
Thanks for the replies. I have looked and checked all connections and fuses I can find. I’m about to conclude that the Axxera radios/cameras are junk and mine is shot. I’ll keep taking all suggestions and look a while longer.
Again thanks for the replies
DD
__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 04:11 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
State: Alabama
Posts: 1
THOR #5871
Look in house battery compartment. 15 amp Click image for larger version

Name:	JPEG_20210409_111020_5469562256061849077.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	29705
__________________
Poconut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 04:15 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: New York
Posts: 11
THOR #12211
Did you recently have your batteries drain on you? I left my parking lights on overnight, and it killed the car and house batteries. I am not in a place where I can plug in and charge the house batteries. I got a jump and the car battery is working fine now, but the house batteries are still dead. Took a good 2 hours drive and they are still dead. Wondering if the converter is shot. I have that same issue, Use button was pushed, but no house power, so no radio or camera power.
__________________
JohnnyChaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 05:15 PM   #14
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 5,773
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dooleybell View Post
Thanks for the replies. I have looked and checked all connections and fuses I can find. Iím about to conclude that the Axxera radios/cameras are junk and mine is shot. Iíll keep taking all suggestions and look a while longer.
Again thanks for the replies
DD
Two separate items. The cameras feed into a switch under the dash cover which then has a single feed into the radio. Just because the radio is not working doesnít mean the cameras are junk.
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 06:37 PM   #15
Member
 
BattleBorn1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 29M
State: Nevada
Posts: 62
THOR #11264
Mine was easy....after I had checked all fuses, fuse blocks, use/store switch..you name it. Then I tried the GFI in my 29m bathroom. Immediately I had power to my Axxera.

To all the electrical folks, I understand and agree this shouldnít have had anything to do with it. I only offer this personal testimony on the same issue trying to assist. Itís a simple thing to try anyway and if it works it stops the grief.

Good luck
__________________
BattleBorn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 06:55 PM   #16
Member
 
BattleBorn1's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Windsport 29M
State: Nevada
Posts: 62
THOR #11264
Also if your GFI isnít easy to locate, you may have one on the inverter itself. Mine is under our bed but doesnít have one.
__________________
BattleBorn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 07:07 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Scubawise's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: 2020 Vegas 25.6
State: Montana
Posts: 1,186
THOR #20220
On mine there is a pin hole and we stuck a safety pin in and
It reset and came on...months later thor replaced free
__________________
Montana Thor Vegas 25.6
Wife and I & 2 Golden Retrievers Happy Campers!!
tandem biking, hiking, tennis, scuba,fishing,skiing
Retired H.S. Principal, National Life & Health Insurance Agent
"Today is a Gift and Why it is called the Present"
Scubawise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 08:41 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
Thanks all. Have tried all suggestions prior to posting except for the GFI but will try that also. Anyone know for sure if the radio pulls from house or chassis’s battery.
DD
__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 08:42 PM   #19
Site Team
 
EA37TS's Avatar
 
Brand: Entegra
Model: Accolade 37TS
State: South Carolina
Posts: 5,773
THOR #1469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dooleybell View Post
Thanks all. Have tried all suggestions prior to posting except for the GFI but will try that also. Anyone know for sure if the radio pulls from house or chassisís battery.
DD
House batteries for radio
__________________
EA37TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 08:54 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Dooleybell's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Challenger LX
State: Missouri
Posts: 21
THOR #15534
So if that’s the case it woul eliminate any fuse in the Ford block? The only two fuse I found for radio was one in the Ford block marked radio, which was good. And one
In the main breaker 12V box marked bedroom radio which was good and the bedroom radio works. I pulled the fuse to make sure and the bedroom radio went off. Thanks and I’ll keep looking.
PS. in an earlier thread I meant only the radio might be junk. I know the cameras are separate but if it doesn’t work your SOL.
__________________
Dooleybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2