RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Thor Forums > Thor Tech Forums > Modifications and Updates
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2019, 06:49 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.3
State: Florida
Posts: 186
THOR #6451
I went over to the RV at lunch and got it working. It works really well! I just have to figure out how to mount the module. I took some pictures.





This is the panel cover, the programmer and the module that has to be installed.





This is the panel where you install the module and hookup the programmer. You can't see it in the picture, but in the upper right you see a orange cable plugged in. Above that cable is a row of about 6-7 network ports. You plug in the programmer fist and upload the new software, then you plug in the module to one of the free ports.





Here is the module hooked up to the panel. There is an opening at the bottom of the circuit board so I'm going to try and mount the module underneath the board. Will go back tonight to finish.


The following are pictures of some of the screens from the iPhone app.

















Not sure on the range yet but I stood about 25-30' in front of the motor home and was able to turn on and off lights. I think this is going to be a very nice mod to the motor home.


Burch
__________________

__________________
Metalgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 08:38 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Palazzo 36.1
State: North Carolina
Posts: 321
THOR #13712
Great information thanks Metalgator, I'll open the slide, open up the bed and see if the main module is there by the electrical panel - will have to pull off the inside panel though!
__________________

__________________
Chuck and Mary Ann
FMCA, Good Sam Life Member and Thor MC member

Enjoy the journey, one day at a time!
Chuck and Mary Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 10:13 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 35SF
State: Missouri
Posts: 713
THOR #2020
Good job of documenting this. When I did mine I left the plastic cover off and built a wooden frame with a cover that matched the wood of the bed frame. The module just fit perfectly under the new cover. Canít send pictures because the MH has been in the shop since early November. But on the good side they finally found the water leak.
__________________
pstandiford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 10:52 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,039
THOR #11130
Quote:
Originally Posted by pstandiford View Post
Good job of documenting this. When I did mine I left the plastic cover off and built a wooden frame with a cover that matched the wood of the bed frame. The module just fit perfectly under the new cover. Canít send pictures because the MH has been in the shop since early November. But on the good side they finally found the water leak.

Good new Paul...where was the leak?
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 11:55 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 35SF
State: Missouri
Posts: 713
THOR #2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gritz Carlton View Post
Good new Paul...where was the leak?


The original leak was on the drivers side seal between the cap and the body. There was a smaller secondary leak on the passenger side in basically the same spot. They used a moisture detector to find it. Removed the cabinet above sofa, removed sofa, and then removed insulation in wall. Replacing insulation with new as well as the paneling. Watch your unit close for leaks.
__________________
pstandiford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 12:40 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,039
THOR #11130
Quote:
Originally Posted by pstandiford View Post
The original leak was on the drivers side seal between the cap and the body. There was a smaller secondary leak on the passenger side in basically the same spot. They used a moisture detector to find it. Removed the cabinet above sofa, removed sofa, and then removed insulation in wall. Replacing insulation with new as well as the paneling. Watch your unit close for leaks.

I had factory do a thorough inspection of this area when I was in Wakarusa. So far, all is good. Glad it's behind you now.
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 08:24 PM   #47
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
State: Florida
Posts: 9
THOR #11362
Thanks, Metalgator. Your installation and phone screen grabs were what I needed to see. Mine is on order now and will receive this week.
__________________
2017 Thor Venetian M37
Vaark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 03:18 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Miramar 35.3
State: Florida
Posts: 186
THOR #6451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaark View Post
Thanks, Metalgator. Your installation and phone screen grabs were what I needed to see. Mine is on order now and will receive this week.
I got a chance to use the system this weekend. It really works well. Glad I spent the money on it.
__________________
Metalgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 01:06 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 35SF
State: Missouri
Posts: 713
THOR #2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gritz Carlton View Post
The BR radio does have a "wire antenna" as many radios have had for years. One of the problems, and a consistent one with the builders, is the coiled antenna wire from the box" is not "uncoiled" and ran up into the wall as it should be. During my Wakarusa Vacation the technician pulled the wire out and located it best he could up the wall behind some trim. It made a dramatic difference in reception. I would safely assume all rear BR radios on similar coaches share the same problem. The slides are built before the radios are installed...thus, they just stick it in the hole, stuff the wires in the back and leave it that way.


Still working through the big list of items with a great local service center. Told them what you had found. They checked and found that ours did not have an antenna attached. Glad we didnít have any plans for the winter.
__________________
pstandiford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 01:13 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
The Gritz Carlton's Avatar
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: THOR Chateua 35SF
State: Georgia
Posts: 4,039
THOR #11130
They told the workers..."put a radio in the bedroom"....they forgot to tell them..."make it functional".
__________________
2018 THOR Chateau 35SF
Two Labs, Bugsie & Blondie
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:21 PM   #51
Junior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34J
State: Indiana
Posts: 15
THOR #14449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaark View Post
How good is the app? Any screenshots?
Very nice app and responsive. Does cost .99 to download but works great for the few days I have messed with it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190218-181231_Vegatouch Mira.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	15756   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190218-181248_Vegatouch Mira.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	15757  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190218-181240_Vegatouch Mira.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	15758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190218-181257_Vegatouch Mira.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	15759  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190218-181306_Vegatouch Mira.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	31.8 KB
ID:	15760  
__________________
abba3939 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 03:41 AM   #52
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34J
State: Iowa
Posts: 111
THOR #15642
Does anyone find it strange that the tanks only show 0, 33, 67 and 100 percent?
__________________
chrisngrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 04:10 AM   #53
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Chateau 35SF
State: Missouri
Posts: 713
THOR #2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
Does anyone find it strange that the tanks only show 0, 33, 67 and 100 percent?


Not strange to me. Each level is indicated by a separate probe. Three probes total. No probes in waste will be between 0 and 33%. Lowest probe in waste will be over 33% but less than 67%. Second probe in waste is over 67% but less than 100%. Top probe in waste is 100%. My top probe is not really at the top so it does give a bit of safety factor in the reading.
__________________
pstandiford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 04:12 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
Brand: Thor Motor Coach
Model: Hurricane 34J
State: Iowa
Posts: 111
THOR #15642
Ah thought it was some kind of floating sensor. Thanks for the feedback and reassurance that all systems normal here.
__________________

__________________
chrisngrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Thor Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
×